Regular price $24.95 $24.95 Unit price per
Vinyl comes packaged in a delux tip-on style LP jacket with a gatefold insert and digital download.
Produced, Engineered & Mixed by Taylor Young at The Pit Recording Studio. Mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege. Photography by Kylla Barsell, Artwork by Thomas Toye and Layout by Martin Stewart.
Death waits in the wings for all of us. Ironically, it might be the only certainty in life. Nevertheless, we live anyway, squeezing meaning out of each day. Deadbody face this existential truth head-on with a barrage of death metal, grind, and hardcore as unrelenting as it is undeniable. The San Fernando Valley quartet—brothers Taylor Young [vocals, guitar] and Colin Young [vocals, Bass], Miles McIntosh [guitar], and Jorge Herrera [drums]—storm out of the gate with an intense vision befitting of our encroaching collective demise on their 2022 debut album, The Requiem [Closed Casket Activities].
“The idea of the album is the death and mourning of not only an era, but the ego,” notes Taylor. “Regardless of your output, status, goals, failures, or otherwise, the last thing you do is rot or burn. You can’t take any of it with you, so there’s no point in getting hung up on petty details. It sounds bleak, but it’s also meant to be freeing. Let go and move forward.”
The musicians initially breathed life into Deadbody during 2020. The members had made their bones in the underground with Taylor a sought-after producer and member of Twitching Tongues, God’s Hate and Zous as well as former drummer of Nails, Colin in God’s Hate and Twitching Tongues, Miles in Apparition, and Jorge in ACXDC and Despise You. They wrote and jammed over the course of the next two years, recording in Taylor’s studio The Pit in Van Nuys. Creatively, they nodded to the likes of Human Remains, Discordance Axis, Burnt By The Sun, Assuck, Brutal Truth, and Suffocation.
1. Tempered by Mercy
2. Without Honor
3. Wound Eternal
4. Joy of Torture
5. )}][{(
6. Horrors of the Malformed
7. The Requiem
8. Deadbody